How do I add an avatar to the public avatar library?
Watch out for Spoofs on E-Bay and Pay-Pal
Hello Guest
  
  • Login
• Register…
• Start blog
  • Who, Where, When
• What is interesting here?
• Duels
  • Polls
• Avatars
• Interests
  • Cities and Countries
• Random blog
• Users search
  • Search
• Games
• Tests
• GYXU
  • Ñîîáùåñòâà
• Talxy Chat
• Horoscope
• Online
 
Register!

GYXU > Billiard > Watch out for Spoofs on E-Bay and Pay-Pal 13 May 2005 11:23:23

  Recent blog posts: 
  Forums:   
  Discuss: 
  Recent forum topics: 
  Recent forum comments:
  Ìîäåðàòîð:

Watch out for Spoofs on E-Bay and Pay-Pal

David Malone 12 May 2005 17:48:48
 Someone set up an e-Bay account using my ID and subsequently tried to
access my Pay-Pal account. The spoof was a very clever note
(purporting to be from Pay-Pal) claiming someone from e-Bay tried to
access my Pay-Pal account illegally and asking me to click on a link
to confirm my account numbers. etc.

I sent it to Pay-Pal who confirmed it is a spoof and are investigating
it. Hope they nail the SOBs.

I know this is motherhood to most of you but don't ever type your
passwords or account information into a site that you haven't accessed
directly.

David "The Hamster" Malone
Add comment
Billy Bob 12 May 2005 18:14:12 permanent link ]
 In these emails, there will be a link to click on which might say:

paypal.com/whatever­

But the link does not take you to paypal.com! If you look at the link
embedded or click on the link, it will take you somewhere else. It takes
you to a page which asks for your user name and password.

They are trying to get your user name and password!

So *don't* click on links in emails then enter your user name and password
for *anything*. The link you are actually going to may not be what is typed
in the email.


"David Malone" wrote in message> Someone set up an e-Bay account using my ID and subsequently tried to> access my Pay-Pal account. The spoof was a very clever note> (purporting to be from Pay-Pal) claiming someone from e-Bay tried to> access my Pay-Pal account illegally and asking me to click on a link> to confirm my account numbers. etc.>
I sent it to Pay-Pal who confirmed it is a spoof and are investigating> it. Hope they nail the SOBs.>
I know this is motherhood to most of you but don't ever type your> passwords or account information into a site that you haven't accessed> directly.>
David "The Hamster" Malone


Add comment
David Malone 12 May 2005 18:20:02 permanent link ]
 On Thu, 12 May 2005 07:14:12 -0700, "Billy Bob"
<billybobnospam@yah­oo.com> wrote:
But the link does not take you to paypal.com! If you look at the link>embedded or click on the link, it will take you somewhere else. It takes>you to a page which asks for your user name and password.

Exactly. But I imagine it's a pretty successful spoof because there
are so many trusting souls out there who want to do the 'right thing'
to, ironically, protect their accounts.

David "The Hamster" Malone
Add comment
Patrick Johnson 12 May 2005 18:29:44 permanent link ]
 This scam has been around for so long I'm surprised it surprises anybody
any more. I get probably a dozen or more of these a day purporting to
be about my EBay account, bank accounts I don't have, credit card
accounts, etc. They all say approximately the same thing: "(For some
security reason) you need to confirm (i.e., re-enter) your account info
or we'll have to close your account."

As you said, one should never use a link that's emailed to you - no
legitimate company would do it that way, and it's a dead giveaway (at
least to me). Another dead giveaway is that there's almost always some
grammatical or spelling error somewhere in the email (often in the
"boilerplate" business language). That means it's probably from a
foreign source.

Pat Johnson
Chicago

David Malone wrote:> Someone set up an e-Bay account using my ID and subsequently tried to> access my Pay-Pal account. The spoof was a very clever note> (purporting to be from Pay-Pal) claiming someone from e-Bay tried to> access my Pay-Pal account illegally and asking me to click on a link> to confirm my account numbers. etc.>
I sent it to Pay-Pal who confirmed it is a spoof and are investigating> it. Hope they nail the SOBs.>
I know this is motherhood to most of you but don't ever type your> passwords or account information into a site that you haven't accessed> directly.>
David "The Hamster" Malone

Add comment
David Malone 12 May 2005 18:38:29 permanent link ]
 On Thu, 12 May 2005 14:29:44 GMT, Patrick Johnson
<patrick.johnsonREM­OVE@THIScomcast.net>­ wrote:
Another dead giveaway is that there's almost always some >grammatical or spelling error somewhere in the email (often in the >"boilerplate" business language). That means it's probably from a >foreign source.

I think they've discovered spell checkers since the early days - this
one was impeccable.

David "The Hamster" Malone
Add comment
Pltrgyst 12 May 2005 18:46:30 permanent link ]
 On Thu, 12 May 2005 14:29:44 GMT, Patrick Johnson
<patrick.johnsonREM­OVE@THIScomcast.net>­ wrote:
As you said, one should never use a link that's emailed to you - no >legitimate company would do it that way....

Except that when you open a new account somewhere, most sites/companies email
you an email containing a link to confirm your receipt of the email (and thus
the validity of your email address).

Even there, though, there is generally an option to browse to a particular page
on their site, and copy the confirming data into your browser, so you don't
have to click on the emailed link if you're really paranoid about doing so.

-- Larry

Add comment
JohnA 12 May 2005 19:37:02 permanent link ]
 
"David Malone" wrote

Another dead giveaway is that there's almost always some>>grammatical or spelling error somewhere in the email (often in the>>"boilerplate" business language). That means it's probably from a>>foreign source.>
I think they've discovered spell checkers since the early days - this> one was impeccable.>
David "The Hamster" Malone



The last one that I got was perfect. It had a bunch of steps to confirm my
account and some of the embedded links actually took you to the real paypal
website. But if you complied with all of the steps in the email one of the
steps looked like this:

Step 2: Go to https://www.paypal.­com/cgi-bin/webscr?c­md=login-run log in to
your PayPal account. Complete your "Bank Account" information and "Activate
Account".

But when you rolled your cursor over the above link you would find that the
embedded link actually took you to this site
http://218.4.157.16­5/.x/paypal/paypal/i­ndex.html.

The numbers for the URL are the giveaway. I never actually went to this
site. But I have clicked on links to previous phishing scams just to see
what the sites looked like. They look just like the paypal website. If you
try and check the above spoof site you'll find that it has been
de-activated. The spoof sites don't last very long.

If you get any suspicious emails for paypal, forward them to
spoof@paypal.com.


--
JohnA(Kent,WA)









Add comment
Sittingduck 13 May 2005 11:23:23 permanent link ]
 David Malone wrote:
Exactly. But I imagine it's a pretty successful spoof because there> are so many trusting souls out there who want to do the 'right thing'> to, ironically, protect their accounts.

Not trusting, naive. And inexperienced.

Been suckered once or twice myself, but never from an email. :)­
Add comment
 

Add new comment

As:
Login:  Password:  
 
 
  
 
respect your talk pals, avoid using obscene language, typing entire messages in CAPS, posting buy/sell ads or violating netiquette or the RF Criminal Code..


GYXU > Billiard > Watch out for Spoofs on E-Bay and Pay-Pal 13 May 2005 11:23:23

see also:
pass tests:
see also:

  Copyright © 2001—2009 GYXU
Idea: Miñhael Monashev
See Help and FAQ in the community support.gyxu.com.
Write in the community about the bugs you have noticedbugs.gyxu.com.
Write your offers and comments in the communities suggest.gyxu.com.
Information for parents.
Write us at:
If you would like to report an abuse of our service, such as a spam message, please .